Community Contacts

Here is a selection of local listings and contact information for groups in the Thakeham community, and related useful links in the area.  Skip to the category you are interested in, or browse the full listing.  Please let us know of any errors and updates!

Thakeham Community & Events
Clubs/Societies
Charities & Community service providers
Education
Health & Wellbeing
Neighbouring Parish Councils
Press & Listings
Spiritual
Sports

Group type/name Organisation Contact details

Thakeham Community & Events

Village Hall Trust Chairman: John Bearman 01903 744971 johnbearman47@hotmail.com   Secretary/Treasurer: John Instance 01403 741369    Bookings: Barbara Laker: 01798 812266
Flower Festival c/o St Mary’s Church, Thakeham See St Mary’s Church
Thakeham Village Action http://www.thakehamvillageaction.org.uk/
White Lion Thakeham http://www.whitelion-thakeham.co.uk/

Clubs/Societies

We also recommend the excellent listings at: http://www.storrington.org.uk/activities/clubs-societies/
Gardening Thakeham Gardeners Club More information here.  Contact Linda Turk 01903 743640
Storrington Horticultural Society http://www.storringtonhorti.org.uk/
Storrington Flower Club www.nafas.org.uk/flower_club/Storrington+Flower+Club
Art Chanctonbury Art Club Mrs. Leathley 01403 785351
Priory Art Group Sheila Appleford 01903 742006
Bellringing Thakeham Bellringers More information here. Christine Hounslow 01798 8159933; email: christinehounslow@hotmail.com or Roger Watts 01798 813775; email: working.cap@btinternet.com
Bridge Thakeham Bridge Club Harold Linfield 01798 812276
Storrington Bridge Club www.bridgewebs.com
Bingo Storrington http://storringtonvillagehall.co.uk
Ashington Jayne.Jeffrey@horsham.gov.uk
Camera Storrington Camera Club Janet Brown 01798 812183
Computing Pulborough Computer Club www.pcclub.org.uk
Youth/Scouts Sullington & Storrington Scout Groups, Sullington Brownies,Storrington/West Chiltington Rainbows, Boys’ Brigade & Girls’ Association For contact details of these groups see: http://www.storrington.org.uk/activities/clubs-societies/
Sewing/Quilting Stitchers of Sullington Tel. 01403 731121
Storrington Quilters Email: lynne.59@gmail.com
Stamp Collecting Storrington & District Stamp Society http://www.storrington.org.uk/activities/clubs-societies/
Motoring Storrington And District Classic And Sportscar Enthusiasts www.sadcase.co.uk
Womens’ Institute Sullington Windmills WI, West Chiltington WI http://www.wsfwi.co.uk/page2.html
Other womens’ clubs Thakeham Ladies Ann Walker 01798 812802
Thakeham Rebels Barbara Laker 01798 812266
Local history Storrington Museum

West Chiltington Museum Group

www.storringtonmuseum.org/

West Chiltington PC website

Dance Thakeham Morris http://www.thakeham-morris.org.uk/ Tim Everett 01798 815708
Storrington Circle & European Folkdance Group Sue Kewley 01903 744929 suekewley@outlook.com
Music Sandgate Singers www.sandgatesingers.com
West Chiltington Silver Band www.westchiltsilverband.com
Rambling Arun Adur Ramblers www.arun-adur-ramblers.org.uk
Horsham District Council https://www.horsham.gov.uk/leisurepages/Leisure/sports/outdoor-sports/walking
Conservation Storrington Conservation Society http://www.storringtonconserv.org.uk Mick Denness 745971
Sandgate Conservation Group http://www.sandgate-conservation.org.uk/
Amateur Dramatics Storrington Dramatic Society www.storringtondramatics.co.uk
West Chiltington Dramatic Society www.wcds.co.uk/

 

W Chilt Theatre Arts Club http://westchiltvillagehall.org/west-chiltington-theatre-arts-club/

Charities and Community service providers

Age UK (Horsham District) http://www.ageuk.org.uk/horshamdistrict/
Independent Lives Pulborough http://www.independentlives.org/
Rotary Club Storrington & Pulborough  www.storringtonrotary.org.uk
Round Table Storrington & District www.storrington.roundtable.co.uk/
Lions Club Chanctonbury Lions Club Malcolm Biggs   T: 01903 743847
RSPB Pulborough Brooks www.rspb.org.uk/discoverandenjoynature/seenature/reserves/guide/p/pulboroughbrooks/
Sussex Wildlife Trust https://www.sussexwildlifetrust.org.uk/
HDC Adopt-a-Street scheme https://www.horsham.gov.uk/bins/adopt-a-street
Volunteering (Open Spaces) https://www.horsham.gov.uk/parksandcountryside/parks-and-countryside/get-involved
WSCC Carewise (Care funding advice) carewise@westsussex.gov.uk
Library Storrington https://www.westsussex.gov.uk/location-directories/find-a-library/details/api/type/library/view/storrington-library

Education

Toddlers Thakeham Toddlers Joanna McKnight 01798 812419
Pre-school Thakeham Pre-School Sharon Rance home@rancefamily.co.uk  01798 815467 thakehampreschool.uk.com
Primary Thakeham First School Telephone: 01798 812133  :   office@thakehamfs.co.uk  www.thakehamfs.co.uk
Secondary Rydon Community College Tel 01903 744138                Office@rydoncc.co.uk    http://www.rydoncc.co.uk/
Steyning Grammar School Tel: 01903 814555                      sgs@sgs.uk.net                http://www.sgs.uk.net/
STARS First Schools See Thakeham First School

Health & Wellbeing

GP Practices               To search GP practices in the area:                           http://www.nhs.uk/Service-Search/GP/LocationSearch/4
Pulborough Medical Group, Spiro Close, Pulborough, West Sussex, RH20 1FG 01798 872815

http://www.pmgdoctors.co.uk/

The Glebe Surgery, Monastery Lane, Storrington, West Sussex, RH20 4LR 01903 742942

http://www.glebesurgerystorrington.nhs.uk/

Billingshurst Surgery, Roman Way, Billingshurst, West Sussex, RH14 9QZ 01403 782931

http://www.billingshurstsurgery.co.uk/

Other Health & Wellbeing related
Horsham District Wellbeing http://horsham.westsussexwellbeing.org.uk/
Macmillan nurses West Sussex http://www.macmillan.org.uk/Fundraising/Inyourarea/England/Sussex/Sussex.aspx
Mary How Trust Cancer prevention charity http://www.maryhowtrust.org/

Neighbouring Parish Councils

Links to nearby Parish Councils can be found here, including:

Amberley, Ashington, Parham, Shipley, Storrington & Sullington, Washington, West Chiltington, Wiston www.storrington.org.uk/amenities/government/

Press & Listings

Sussex Local http://www.sussexlocal.net/
County Times http://www.wscountytimes.co.uk/
Storrington.org http://www.storrington.org.uk/
West Sussex Info http://www.westsussex.info/

Spiritual

CofE:

 

St Mary’s Church, Thakeham

St Mary’s Church, Sullington

Parish priest: Rev Derek Spencer  info@thakehamchurch.com                        01798 813121 http://thakehamchurch.typepad.com/
Three Heralds magazine http://www.storringtonparishchurch.org.uk/index.php/contact/ARTICLE_ID=7
Catholic: Our Lady of England Catholic Church, Storrington Parish Priest: Fr Charles Howell                 01903 740338                                           Email: storrington@dabnet.org               Website: www.ourladyofengland.com
Methodist: Trinity Methodist Church, Storrington Rev. Graham Locking                                    Tel: 01903 746390 http://www.trinitymethodiststorrington.uk/
Islam: Worthing Islamic Cultural Centre Telephone: 01903 215163
Email: chairman@worthingmasjid.com
Websitewww.worthingmasjid.com
Quaker: Blue Idol, Oldhouse Lane,Coolham http://www.blueidol.org/ www.facebook.com/BlueIdol
Jehovah’s Witness: Kingdom Hall Mr Nicholas Laker                                   richard-fryer@hotmail.co.uk                        01403 785412

Sports

Leisure Centres Storrington www.impulseleisure.co.uk/chanctonbury-sport-and-leisure
Billingshurst www.placesforpeopleleisure.org/centres/billingshurst-leisure-centre
Cricket West Chiltington & Thakeham http://www.westchiltingtonandthakehamcc.co.uk/

 

Storrington http://storringtoncricket.club/
Football (adult) Thakeham Village FC http://www.thakehamvillagefc.teamexpert.co.uk/
Football (junior) Storrington Vipers http://www.storringtonvipers.com/
Swimming Clubs

Nearest public pool

www.atlantishorsham.co.uk

See Billingshurst Leisure Centre above.

Other sports, including badminton, cycling, martial arts, rugby, running, squash, table tennis, tennis – see http://www.storrington.org.uk/activities/clubs-societies/